O NO Dotel

Posted: March 3, 2009 in Baseball, White Sox

soxThe other day, as I was listening to White Sox baseball, Octavio Dotel was pitching, or at least trying to. Giving up runs, hits and bad pick off moves like you wouldn’t believe. I thought wow Dotel is in mid-season form already. Why is this guy still pitching on the South Side of Chicago? The following story by Mark Gonzalez of The Chicago Tribune, takes alook at Dotel’s ’09 excuses. 

GLENDALE, Ariz. — Octavio Dotel has a message for those who are wondering if his first two rocky outings are a carry-over from his mercurial 2008 season.

Be patient.

“I don’t know what people are worrying about in spring training,” Dotel said Monday. “If it was the [regular] season, that’s different. But it’s spring training 2009, Cactus League.

“What I did in the [regular] season, that’s what counts. I don’t know why people are worrying about it in spring training.”

Dotel struck out three and didn’t allow a run Monday in the eighth inning of a 5-3 loss to Seattle. Dotel, who did allow a hit and had an errant pickoff throw, said he has been working on a changeup to disrupt opponents’ timing.

“I’m throwing it, and that’s why it’s spring training—to work with pitches you need to work on, to see if they’re going to be good in the season,” he said. “So over here I’m going to throw it no matter what. But when the season starts, if I don’t have control the way I want it, believe me, I’m not going to be throwing it because it’s different.”

Dotel struck out 92 but allowed 12 home runs in 67 innings in 2008.

I don’t care if it’s spring training or not, your whole season last year looked like a spring outing, all I remember is when Gene Honda would announce Now pitching for the White Sox, Octavio Dotel, and we would all think O!! NO!!! DOTEL!!!

Leave a Reply

