Archive for July 29, 2009

The Pirates shipped SS Jack Wilson and RHP Ian Snell to the Seattle Mariners for SS Ronny Cedeno, Triple-A 1B Jeff Clement, RHP Aaron Pribanic, RHP Brett Lorin, and RHP Nathan Adcock.

Jeff Clement is expected to join the Indianapolis Indians after hitting .288 with 14 home runs and 68 runs batted in for Triple-A Tacoma. Clement has split time as a catcher, first baseman, and DH. The three pitchers that the Pirates have traded for, sure stand tall. Pribanic played college ball at Nebraska and the 23 year old is listed at 6’4″. Lorin is only 22 and is listed at 6’7″ and Adcock is a 21 year old listed at 6’5″. For more on the Trade and Indianapolis Indians baseball check out Scott McCauley Blog.

10 I did it! I did it! Oh wait, it’s only the fourth inning.

 

9 If this doesn’t get Kate Hudson to notice me, nothing will.

 

8 Too bad I’m not on my own fantasy team.

 

7 I’m leaving after the 7th inning to beat traffic.

 

6 My brother-in-law bowled a perfect game.

 

5 Josh Fields and DeWayne Wise: “We’re going to Disney World!” MB: “And I’m running for Governor of Alaska.”

 

4 Did I remember to Tivo ‘So You Think You Can Dance’?

 

3 Should I shave my back?

 

2 Sunflower seed lodged in windpipe…get help….

 

1 Maybe I’ll give up a hit so I don’t have to appear on Letterman

This weeks Why your team Sucks – Indianapolis Colts , Deadspin style by Drew Magary can be found here, Check it..

If this doesn’t say Colts fan, I’m not sure what does. Maybe that’s why those fans are so fuckin quit.

Wise GiftLet’s flash back to the 9th inning, last Thursday when Gabe Kapler hit a deep fly ball that seemed destined to be a solo dinger, but with a single leap, DeWayne Wise made the catch of the year to keep Buehrle’s perfect game alive. So what does a pitcher get an outfielder that just saved his perfecto, how about booze, but not just any booze, but a customized bottle of Crown Royal XR. Apparently the Crown Royal XR stands for “extra rare,” and a 750ml bottle will set you back somewhere in the vicinity of $200. But that’s not it, Buehrle has also commissioned a painting of Wise’s highlight-reel catch as a present among a few other items.